IADC, Regulation, and LegislationNews

IADC Exemplary Service Awards honor Dan Scott, Jorge Lebrija and Andy Poosuthasee

Dan Scott, Jorge Lebrija and Andy Poosuthasee were honored with IADC Exemplary Service Awards (ESAs) at the 2017 IADC Annual General Meeting on 9 November in Austin, Texas. The ESAs recognize individuals for outstanding contributions to the drilling industry and to IADC. Recipients have, in the course of their career, repeatedly demonstrated their commitment to improving the drilling industry and advancing its safety, training, or technology.

Mr Scott, who is retired, most recently served as Senior Technical Advisor for Baker Hughes, a GE company. He has spent his career developing innovative products and processes for bits, and other downhole drilling tools. He holds 140 US patents and is recognized as one of the most prolific inventors in the history of Baker Hughes, receiving the BHI D&E Inventor of the Year in 2010, 2011 and 2012 and recognized as the 2017 Inventor of the Year by the State Bar of Texas. Mr Scott has published more than 65 papers and written book chapters on drill bits and drilling technology for several entities, including the IADC Drilling Manual. He is a distinguished member of SPE, an ASM Fellow, recipient of the ASME Silver Patent award and recipient of the Chairman’s Lifetime Technology Achievement from BHI. He serves on the MS&T Petroleum and Geology Advisory Boards and was inducted into the Academy of Mines and Metallurgy at MS&T. He served 26 consecutive years on the IADC/SPE Drilling Conference Program Committee and currently serves on the IADC Drilling Engineers Committee Board. Mr Scott has also contributed several articles to Drilling Contractor magazine. He currently serves as Vice Chair of the 2017 SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition and will be Program Chairman in 2018.

Mr Lebrija is the Director of Supply Chain, Global Sourcing for Ensco. Prior to joining Ensco, he held multiple supply chain, sourcing and procurement leadership positions within Baker Hughes, Transocean and Cemex. Mr Lebrija is currently the Chairman of the IADC Supply Chain Committee and has participated in the committee since its creation in 2013. Additionally, he led the Manufacturing Record Book Subcommittee and, by working together with the primary OEMs, classification societies and offshore drillers, the group was able to standardize the format for the manufacturing book records and publish the first IADC Manufacturing Record Book Guidance document. He graduated from the Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey with a Bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering and earned an Executive MBA from the University of Houston.

Mr Poosuthasee graduated with a bachelor of science in industrial engineering, with a minor in Spanish, from Purdue University. He then worked for Halliburton for eight years in a variety of roles, the most prominent of which was managing manufacturing plants/business units. He has spent the past six years with drilling contractors, with the last four years as the Director of Supply Chain for Vantage Drilling, reporting to the Chief Operating Officer. He is responsible for all procurement, logistics, customs, warehouse and inventory activities globally. In addition, he has served two terms as Co-Chairman of the IADC Supply Chain Committee.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button