News Cuttings

dsc_0408IADC South Central Asia Chapter hosts safety workshop

On 25 March, the IADC South Central Asia Chapter hosted a Hand & Finger Safety Workshop in Agartala, India. The workshop was organized to bring awareness to hand and finger injuries. According to IADC Incident Statistics Program data, such injuries comprise more than 43% of all recordable incidents on drilling rigs. Those who attended the conference were divided into nine groups, and each was given a safety case to determine key preventive measures. From left are Suresh Mehra, ED Chief HSE, ONGC; Mike DuBose, IADC VP of International Development; V.P. Mahawar, Director Onshore, ONGC; S.C. Soni, ED Asset Manager, ONGC Agartala.

New appointees join Well Control Institute Board

Two new members have been named to the Well Control Institute (WCI) Board of Directors. Steve Brady, Senior VP – Eastern Hemisphere for Ensco and current IADC Vice Chairman, was named to fill the contractor vacancy created when Lyndol Dew of Diamond Offshore was confirmed as WCI Chairman. Additionally, Eric Daflon, Vice President – Drilling & Wells for TOTAL, was appointed to fill an operator position previously filled by Dawood Al-Dawood of Saudi Aramco.

WCI operates under the auspices of IADC to ensure that operators, contractors, equipment manufacturers and service providers have a forum to provide oversight and leadership on key well control initiatives.

The WCI Board brings together drilling industry leaders from all sectors of the industry to develop comprehensive solutions to significantly improve well control performance worldwide.

dsc_2950Missouri University of Science and Technology visits IADC

On 3 May, students from the Missouri University of Science and Technology visited IADC’s Houston office. The students had an opportunity to speak with IADC leadership to gain a better understanding of the association’s role in the drilling industry and how students can become involved in the future of the organization. From left are Usama bin Rehman, drilling engineering Professor Rickey Hendrix, Connor Kirtley, Alyssa Snider, Elizabeth Sotolongo and Colin Woolums.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button