2017IADC, Regulation, and LegislationJanuary/February

2017 IADC Officers


2017 IADC Officers

Wm. Andrew “Andy” Hendricks, Chairman, Patterson-UTI Energy

Wm. Andrew “Andy” Hendricks joined Patterson-UTI Energy in 2012 as COO after working in various positions at Schlumberger for 24 years, where he last served as President, Schlumberger Drilling and Measurements. Mr Hendricks was appointed as CEO of Patterson-UTI Energy effective 1 October 2012. He attended Texas A&M University, receiving a Bachelor of Science degree in petroleum engineering in 1987 and began his career working for Ocean Drilling & Exploration Co.

Steven Brady, Vice Chairman, Ensco

Steven Brady joined the oil industry 35 years ago after earning a Bachelor of Science degree in petroleum engineering from Mississippi State University. He joined Ensco in 2002 and was appointed to his current position of Senior Vice President – Eastern Hemisphere Operations in December 2014. Prior to his current position, Mr Brady served as Senior Vice President – Western Hemisphere, Vice President – Europe and Mediterranean, General Manager – Middle East and Asia Pacific, and in other leadership positions in the Eastern Hemisphere. Prior to joining Ensco, Mr Brady spent 18 years in various technical and managerial roles for ConocoPhillips and, prior to that, he began his career as an Engineer Trainee with ODECO in their Gulf of Mexico operations.

He is the founder of the Group of Seven, which created the BOP industry database now operated by IADC. Mr Brady is also a member of the advisory board for Living Water, a charity focused on drilling water wells and providing hygiene training to various needy areas of the world.

Scott Mcreaken, Secretary-Treasurer, Sevan Drilling

Scott McReaken was named Chief Executive Officer of Sevan Drilling in November 2013. He joined Sevan after being the Director of Finance for Seadrill’s Americas region since July 2012. Before joining Seadrill, he was the Director Financial Planning and Analysis at Vantage Drilling from March 2010 to July 2012. He also held various management positions in accounting at Pride International in their Houston and Angola locations from 2005 to 2010. Prior to working in the contract drilling industry, Mr McReaken spent five years providing audit, assurance and advisory services as an internal auditor and at Arthur Andersen.

Mr McReaken holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in accounting from The University of Texas at Austin and is a Certified Public Accountant and Certified Internal Auditor.

2017 IADC Division Vice Presidents

Lyndol Dew, Division VP Offshore, Diamond Offshore Drilling

Lyndol Dew is the Senior Vice President Worldwide Operations for Diamond Offshore Drilling. He graduated from Florida State University in 1976 and received his Master of Engineering Degree from Tulane University in 1982. Mr Dew served in the US Navy as a Surface Warfare Officer for six years. He subsequently worked in various domestic and international positions for Diamond Offshore on rigs and shore-based for the past 32 years.

Mike Garvin, Division VP North America Onshore, Patterson-UTI Energy

Mike Garvin is Senior Vice President, Operations Support at Patterson-UTI Drilling Company, a subsidiary of Patterson-UTI LLC. Prior to joining Patterson-UTI, Mr Garvin spent three years with Ensco as a Senior Deepwater Operations Manager. Prior to that, he spent 27 years with GlobalSantaFe and its predecessor and successor companies (Global Marine and Transocean), holding various operations and support leadership positions.

Mr Garvin earned a Bachelor of Science degree in engineering from California Polytechnic State University. He has accumulated a total of 36 years of experience in the upstream sector of the energy business, exploring and drilling for oil, gas and geothermal energy on land and offshore on six different continents.

Niels Espeland, Division VP International Onshore, Precision Drilling

Niels Espeland is President, International at Precision Drilling, a position he has held since 2011. He has more than 35 years of experience in the international oilfield service and rig contracting industry.

Mr Espeland has spent most of his career working for international companies such as KCA DEUTAG and ESSAR Oil and with Weatherford International as Group VP for the Rig Division. Throughout his career, Mr Espeland has managed onshore and offshore operations and companies in numerous international locations, including Latin America, Europe, Russia, the Middle East, Africa and Asia Pacific.

Mr Espeland is originally from Norway and holds an engineering degree in petroleum technology from Clausthal University and an engineering degree in drilling technology from Celle, Germany.

He has been involved with IADC for the majority of his career and previously served as a member of the IADC Executive Committee from 2010 to 2012.

Mike Bowie, Division VP Drilling Services, GE Oil & Gas

Mike Bowie is the North America Region Leader for the GE Oil & Gas Subsea & Drilling product companies. In the seven years prior to his current role, he was the Global Sales and Commercial Leader for the GE Drilling business. Mr Bowie joined Hydril in 2004 as Director, Sales & Marketing, Pressure Control Division, and in early 2008, he became responsible for the combined GE Hydril Pressure Control and Vetco Gray Capital Drilling Group sales and commercial support teams. He has more than 35 years of industry experience, including multiple assignments and leadership roles within engineering, technical marketing, quality, sales, operations and regional management at Cameron, Hydril and GE. Mr Bowie’s background includes international assignments in Australia, Indonesia, the United Arab Emirates and the UK.

He earned his BS mechanical engineering degree from Texas Tech University and attended the Rice University Advanced Management Institute. He is a registered Professional Engineer in Texas.

Jason McFarland, President, IADC

Jason McFarland serves as the association’s President. He previously held the dual positions of Vice President of Corporate Development and Chief of Staff. Mr McFarland graduated summa cum laude from the University of Houston – Downtown Campus with a bachelor’s degree in business management. He has served in numerous capacities during his career at IADC, including management and oversight of the association’s publications and membership departments; staff support for the Ethics, Contracts and Technical Publications Committees; and liaison for IADC’s global network of chapters.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button